APPROVED

CHITTENDEN SOLID WASTE DISTRICT BOARD MEETING – ANNUAL ORGANIZATION MEETING HYBRID MEETING Zoom Meeting/ Williston Town Hall June 22, 2022

PRESENT BOARD MEMBERS

FREJENT		
BOARD MEMBERS:	Bolton	
	Burlington	Lee Perry
	Charlotte	Ken Spencer
	Colchester	Liz Hamlin Volz
	Essex	Alan Nye
	Essex Junction	Alan Nye
	Hinesburg	Doug Taff
		Rick McCraw, alt.
	Huntington	
	Jericho	Leslie Nulty
		Tom Joslin, alt.
	Milton	Henry Bonges
	Richmond	
	Shelburne	Tim Loucks
	So. Burlington	Paul Stabler
	Underhill	Paul Ruess
	Westford	
	Williston	Kelton Bogasky
	Winooski	Bryn Oakleaf
		Dr. Ron Stotyn
STAFF:	Sarah Reeves	
STAFF.		
	Amy Jewell Jen Holliday	
	Nola Ricci	
	Michele Morris	
OTHERS PRESENT:	Thomas Melloni, Esq.	
	Scott Moody, CCTV	
	,,	

AGENDA:

- 1. Agenda
- 2. Introduction of New Board Members
- 3. Organization Meeting Process and Elections
 - a. Election of Officers
 - b. Election of Executive Board
 - c. Granting of Authority
 - d. Set Interest Rate for Late Payment
 - e. Fidelity Bond for Officers
 - f. Approval of Check Signing Privileges
 - g. Approve Meeting Schedule Board and Executive Board
 - h. Appointment of Finance Committee

1.0 CALL TO ORDER and AGENDA

Chair P.Ruess called the Organizational meeting to order at 6:01 PM. No changes were made to the agenda

2.0 INTRODUCTION OF NEW BOARD MEMBERS

P. Ruess invited the Board of Commissioners and CSWD staff to introduce themselves at the start of this new term. New members included H.Bonges, T.Joslin and R.McCraw.

3.0 ORGANIZATION MEETING PROCESS AND ELECTIONS

S. Reeves reviewed the process for the meeting, including a review of the memo sent with candidates for leadership positions and process notes. Additionally, the Board reviewed the process for contested elections and confirmed with Attorney T. Melloni the process for accepting the Executive Committee members via slate vote.

A) ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Chair: Paul Ruess, Underhill

One self- nomination for P.Ruess, no additional nominations.

MOTION to close the nominations for Chair by A.Nye; P. Stabler seconds. VOTING: unanimous; motion carried. P.Ruess abstains from vote.

MOTION that, all those in favor of Paul Ruess acting as Chair of the Board, please indicate by saying Aye and raising hand." VOTING: All Ayes; P.Russ abstains from vote.

Vice Chair: Alan Nye, Essex/ Essex Junction

One self- nomination for A.Nye, no additional nominations.

MOTION to close the nominations for Vice-Chair by L.Nulty; P.Stabler seconds. VOTING: unanimous; motion carried. A.Nye abstains from vote.

MOTION that, all those in favor of Alan Nye acting as Vice- Chair of the Board, please indicate by saying Aye and raising hand." VOTING: All Ayes; A.Nye abstains from vote.

Secretary :

No self-nominations from Board Commissioners; Amy Jewell is nominated to continue her work as Secretary.

MOTION to close the nominations for Secretary by A.Nye; P.Stabler seconds. VOTING: unanimous; motion carried.

MOTION that, all those in favor of Amy Jewell acting as Secretary of the Board, please indicate by saying Aye and raising hand." VOTING: All Ayes.

Treasurer:

One self-nominations for Leslie Nulty; no additional nominations

MOTION to close the nominations for Treasurer by H.Bonges; A.Nye seconds. L.Nulty abstains. VOTING: unanimous; motion carried.

MOTION that, all those in favor of Leslie Nulty acting as Treasurer of the Board, please indicate by saying Aye and raising hand." VOTING: All Ayes. L.Nulty abstains.

B) ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE BOARD

P.Ruess introduces this section by reminding the Board members that they will be voting for the Chair and four members. At the moment, there were three self-nominated candidates for the Executive Committee: A.Nye, L.Perry, and P.Stabler. At the meeting, K.Bogasky and H.Bonges both nominated themselves for the remaining open seat on the Committee. A secret vote was held by private voice vote in person, and private "voting booth" on Zoom to determine who the final Committee nominees would be. The first round of voting closed with a run-off for the final seat between K.Bogasky and H.Bonges; after the runoff vote was held the final Executive Committee members were: L.Perry, A.Nye, K.Bogasky, and P.Stabler.

MOTION to close the nominations for the Executive Committee by A.Nye, seconded by L.Perry. VOTING: unanimous, motion carried.

MOTION that, "All those in favor of the nominees for the Executive Board indicate by saying Aye and raising your hand." VOTING: All Ayes.

C) GRANTING OF AUTHORITY

MOTION to authorize the Executive Board to approve expenditures up to \$100,000; and MOTION to authorize the Executive Director to expend up to \$50,000; and MOTION to authorize the Full Board to approve expenditures above \$100,000.

MOTIONS are made to maintain these proposal levels by K.Bogasky; seconded by A.Nye. VOTING: unanimous, motions carry.

D) SET INTEREST PAYMENTS

MOTION to set the interest rate for late payment at 1% per month (12% per annum) for member towns if assessments are established. Motion by P.Stabler, seconded by L.Nulty. VOTING: unanimous, motion carries.

E) CONTINUE FIDELITY BOND FOR OFFICERS

MOTION to continue the fidelity bond of \$500,000 per incident for commissioners of the Chittenden Solid Waste District, the Director of Finance, and the Executive Director. Motion by A.Nye, second by L.Nulty. VOTING: unanimous, motion carries.

F) APPROVAL OF CHECK SIGNGING PRIVILIGES

Motion to authorize the Chair of the Board of Commissioners, the Executive Director, the Director of Administration, and the Treasurer to sign checks and electronic transfers throughout the upcoming year, and further, any check or electronic transfer greater than \$25, 000 shall require two signatures. MOTION by A.Nye, second by L.Perry. VOTING: unanimous; motion carries.

G) SET MEETING SCHEDULE

The proposed meeting schedule for the Full Board and Executive Committee for the FY23 calendar was set to Board members and is available online in the Board meeting packet. While no meeting is currently scheduled for the Executive Committee in July, and a meeting for the Full Board in July are often not required, P.Ruess recommended holding meetings for the Board to start working on important issues, including the MRF.

MOTION to set the meeting schedule as presented for the Executive Board and the Board of Commissioners, and further, to authorize the Chair of the CSWD Board of Commissioners in consultation with the Executive Director to cancel Board of Commissioner and Executive Board meetings when it is deemed unnecessary or imprudent to hold a meeting. MOTION by K.Bogasky, second by P.Stabler. VOTING: unanimous; motion carries.

H) APPOINTMENT OF THE FINANCE COMMITTEE

P.Ruess notes that, as Chair, he has the final ability to appoint members of the Finance Committee, but always encourages members to self-nominate. As of this meeting, only one member has self-nominated for a place in the Finance Committee; other members are encouraged to apply. P.Ruess will announce the members before the July meeting.

4.0 ADJOURNMENT

MOTION by A.Nye to adjourn the annual organizational meeting; second by R.McCraw. VOTING: unanimous; motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:06 PM.

Amy Jewell

Becky Johnston, Recording Secretary

I agree that this is an original copy of minutes and they have been approved by motion of the Board of Commissioners at the 08/24/22 meeting held in Williston. A_{MM} gevell

n Williston. Amy Jewell

Amy Jewell, Secretary