APPROVED

CHITTENDEN SOLID WASTE DISTRICT

19 Gregory Drive South Burlington

MEETING ROOM

MINUTES OF ANNUAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING June 28, 2023

*Hybrid Meeting via Zoom.

PRESENT

BOARD MEMBERS: Bolton

Burlington Lee Perry
Charlotte Ken Spencer
Colchester Liz Hamlin Volz

Essex Alan Nye

Essex Junction

Hinesburg Rick McCraw

Huntington -----

Jericho Leslie Nulty

Tom Joslin, alt.

Milton -----

Richmond Andrew French

Shelburne -----

So. Burlington Paul Stabler

St. George -----

Underhill Paul Ruess

Westford -----

Williston Kelton Bogasky Winooski Bryn Oakleaf

Rachel Kennedy, alt.

STAFF: Jen Holliday, Amy Jewell, Josh Estey, Jennifer Getty, Michele Morris,

Sarah Reeves, Dan Goossen, Nola Ricci

OTHERS PRESENT: Thomas Melloni, Esq.

AGENDA: 1. Call to Order & Agenda

- 2. Minutes June 2022
- 3. Introduction of New Board Members
- 4. Elects, Officers, Executive Board, and Granting of Authority
- 5. Set Meeting Schedule
- 6. Set Interest Rate for Late Payment
- 7. Continue Fidelity Bond for Officers
- 8. Approval of Check Signing Privileges

9. Adjournment

1. CALL TO ORDER & AGENDA

- P. Ruess called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. No changes to the agenda.
- 2. <u>MINUTES 6/2022 Provided as reference only.</u>

3. INTRODUCTION OF NEW BOARD MEMBERS

P. Ruess introduced new Board members Andrew French, Richmond Rep, and Rachel Kennedy, Winooski, Alt and thanked previous members Logan Hegg and Dr. Ron Stotyn for previously serving on the Board.

4. **ELECT OFFICERS**

<u>Chair</u>

Paul Ruess was the only nomination for Chair

MOTION by Alan Nye, SECOND by Kelton Bogasky, to close the nominations. VOTING: unanimous; MOTION CARRIED.

VOTING ON ELECTION OF CHAIR: All Ayes with one abstention by Paul Ruess, MOTION CARRIED.

Paul Ruess is CSWD Chair of the Board of Commissioners.

Vice Chair

Alan Nye was the only nomination for Vice Chair.

MOTION by Bryn Oakleaf, SECOND by Leslie Nulty, to close the nominations. VOTING: unanimous; MOTION CARRIED.

VOTING ON ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR: All Ayes with one abstention by Alan Nye, MOTION CARRIED.

Alan Nye is CSWD Vice Chair of the Board of Commissioners.

<u>Secretary</u>

MOTION by Alan Nye, SECOND by Leslie Nulty, to nominate Amy Jewell as Secretary. There were no other nominations.

VOTING ON ELECTION OF SECRETARY: unanimous; MOTION CARRIED.

Amy Jewell is Secretary for the CSWD Board of Commissioners.

Treasurer

Paul Stabler was the only nomination for Treasurer.

MOTION by Alan Nye, SECOND by Leslie Nulty, to nominate Paul Stabler as Treasurer. VOTING ON ELECTION OF TREASURER: All Ayes, with one abstention/Paul Stabler. MOTION CARRIED.

Paul Stabler is Treasurer for the CSWD Board of Commissioners.

ELECT EXECUTIVE BOARD & GRANTING OF AUTHORITY

Executive Board

MOTION by Bryn Oakleaf, SECOND by Leslie Nulty, to nominate Alan Nye, Lee Perry, Paul Stabler, and Kelton Bogasky to the Executive Board. VOTING ON ELECTION TO EXECUTIVE BOARD: unanimous; MOTION CARRIED.

CSWD Chair (Paul Ruess) plus Alan Nye (Essex Town), Paul Stabler (South Burlington), Kelton Bogasky (Williston) and Lee Perry (Burlington) are elected to the Executive Board.

Granting of Authority

MOTION by Paul Stabler, SECOND by Bryn Oakleaf, to authorize the Executive Board to approve expenditures up to \$100,000. VOTING: unanimous; MOTION CARRIED.

MOTION by Paul Stabler, SECOND by Bryn Oakleaf, to authorize the Executive Director to expend up to \$50,000. VOTING: unanimous; MOTION CARRIED.

5. SET MEETING SCHEDULE

MOTION by Kelton Bogasky, SECOND by Bryn Oakleaf, to set the meeting schedule as presented for the Executive Board and the Board of Commissioners VOTING: unanimous; MOTION CARRIED.

6 SET INTEREST RATE FOR LATE PAYMENT

MOTION by Alan Nye, SECOND by Paul Stabler, to set the interest rate for late payment at 1% per month (12% per annum) for member towns if assessments are established. VOTING: unanimous; MOTION CARRIED.

7. CONTINUE FIDELITY BOND FOR OFFICERS

MOTION by Alan Nye, SECOND by Paul Stabler, to continue the fidelity bond of \$500,000 per incident for commissioners of the Chittenden Solid Waste District, the Finance Manager, and the Executive Director. VOTING: unanimous; MOTION CARRIED.

8. APPROVAL OF CHECK SIGNING PRIVILEGES

MOTION by Alan Nye, SECOND by Paul Stabler, to authorize the Chair of the Board of Commissioners, the Executive Director, the Director of Administration, and the Treasurer to sign checks and electronic transfers throughout the upcoming year, and

further, any check or electronic transfer greater than \$25,000 shall need two signatures. VOTING: unanimous; motion carried.

11. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION by Kelton Bogasky, SECOND by Bryn Oakleaf, to adjourn the 2023 CSWD organizational meeting. VOTING: unanimous; MOTION CARRIED.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:22 PN	И.
I agree that this is an original copy of of the Board of Commissioners at the	minutes and they have been approved by motion meeting held in
	Amy Jewell, Secretary/Treasurer